Australian Women Writers 2012 Challenge

You may be wondering what the awesome silhouette icon on the left is all about.

I started seeing references to it on Twitter a few weeks ago which piqued my interest. The 2012 Australian Women Writers Challenge is a great initiative to celebrate and raise awareness about our amazing home-grown talent not only by encouraging people to read and review books written by Australian women but also by compiling reading lists for what ever genre you enjoy reading.

I’m lucky as through my involvement in the speculative fiction community I’ve discovered lots of wonderful local writers and even luckier to call some of these very talented women friends. But walking into a bookstore they can be more difficult to find unless they’re one of the more well-known best selling authors. It’s one of the many benefits of attending conventions, you see an author speak or read think they’re interesting so pick up one of their works and find your new favourite author!

One reason I’m taking on the challenge is because I already have quite a few books in my to-read pile that fall under the challenge stipulations, one of which I was already planning to start the year with.

I’ll be attempting to dabble at the Stella level but hoping to make it to the Miles by year’s end.
Given the shameful lack of reading I got through in 2011 and how busy this year is looking I’m erring on the side of caution with hopes of reading more in 2012!

Here’s what I hope to be reading in the next 12 months:
The Two Pearls of Wisdom (also known by the title Eon) by Alison Goodman (one of Continuum 8’s guests of honour this year)
Yellowcake by Margo Lanagan (whose writing I discovered when she was a guest at Continuum 4)
Slights by Kaaron Warren (which I picked up for a steal in the Angry Robot ebook sale which is still on so hop over and grab a bargain!)
The Girl With No Hands by Angela Slatter
Showtime by Narrelle Harris (coming soon as part of Twelfth Planet Press’ Twelve Planets series)
Ishtar by Deborah Biancotti, Cat Sparks and Kaaron Warren (just discovered this and can’t wait to read it!)
-An as yet undecided title by Trudi Canavan
Love and Romanpunk by Tansy Rayner Roberts
Heart of the Mirage by Glenda Larke
Though there’s sure to be a few changes as I come across new books. And I’m sure I’ll be continuing with the adventures of Phryne Fisher by Kerry Greenwood on audio book.

If you’re looking for a couple more books to fill your list I can highly recommend Black Glass by Meg Mundell and Madigan Mine by Kirstyn McDermott. Both of which I read last year so can’t include in my challenge but thoroughly enjoyed.

Hope you’ll join the challenge if only to discover some new and wonderful writers.

Right, I’m off to finish reading World War Z so I can begin the challenge.

Happy Reading!

Leave a comment